my writings and thots

Have I?

Whenever the New Year comes around, I find myself thinking back on the year before, and ask myself and the Lord if I really did all I could and in what areas I could stand to do better in the new year. I think it’s good once in a while to do a little introspection, not to get down about myself, but in order to avoid becoming complacent in my life. The Sealed recently (finally) published their album, which for me is a jewel…a complete CD of Vas, with hardly a song I need to skip. I’ll do a review on it one of these days just cause I like it so much. Anyway, one of the songs spoke to me during this time, asking just the questions I want to ask myself.

Have I?

Have I loved my neighbor as myself?

Have I truly thought of someone else?

Do I live for others the way I should

Or do I hold back for my own good

I search my heart, I judge my soul


Have I spent my time in every day

Thinking of how to help in any way?

Have I, have I loved You more than myself?

Have I, Oh, have I?

The Word that I’ve been drinkin’

Shocked and got me thinkin’

Shone the light on what divides in two

I let my pride come through and stand between me and You

I’m wrong, I know and see my faults, though slowly,

And choose love

Have I taken my eyes off the Maker?

Have I agreed that disrespect would cater?

Has my carnal mind kicked into gear?

Have I let the fiend talk in my ear?

I search my heart, I judge my soul

Does selfless will sustain control?


The Word that I’ve been drinkin’

Shocked and got me thinkin’

Shone the light on what divides in two

I let my pride come through and stand between me and You

I’m wrong, I know and see my faults, though slowly,

And all I can do is humbly beg of You

To forgive me, I’m mistaken

Can’t believe it’s taken all

All this time

To change my ways

And choose love

I search my heart, I judge my soul

Does selfless will sustaincontrol?

2 thoughts on “Have I?”

  1. Haven’t heard the song yet but good words, convicting. Also thanks for all the beautiful pic’s you’ve posted so far. Any more video’s? I love the one of Cherise reading to Jordan. Got any of their Cmas shows? We love you all and keep you in our prayers.

  2. I have more videos, hopefully in the next few days which will be holidays for us I’ll have time to track them all down and post a few. The song is number 6 on the Sealed album…it’s not as rocky as the rest, a bit slower…but very very good.

Leave a Reply

