My favorite quotes, songs and stories, my writings and thots

Sawing off the Limb

Yep, that’s pretty much what I feel like right now. Just taking the Lord at His word and stepping out to do the impossible. limb.jpgSo far, for every step we’ve taken, the Lord’s met us half-way. I had been questioning my faith, asking myself if I would have what it takes to trust the Lord so completely. I mean, I’ve always trusted the Lord; that’s been my life and I would think I’d know a thing or two about faith by now. But question myself, I did. Then sometime during one of those nights when I was tossing and turning doing math in my head and just asking the Lord if maybe, just maybe I was asking too much this time, it came to me: just let go! I realized, I don’t have to ‘have faith’ I just need to trust, like a little kid trusts a parent. Yes, simple, something I should have known, but sometimes it takes putting these things into practice to get passed the ‘theory’ stage. So my faith’s been tested, it still is, and I can’t say it’s all peaches and cream just yet but I know that the Lord’s going to do it.

So I went out on the limb and got all our school books shipped straight to Kolkata instead of here first. We’ve made a deadline for the end of October, though we’re still many many Euros to go on the tickets. I’m getting a new passport which means we can’t apply for the visa until I have the new one (passport number and all) so that’ll be a miracle in itself as far as timing goes. But…the Lord’s in control and I’m just gonna trust him.

That’s why I said, “This is the victory that overcomes the world, even your faith” (1 John 5:4). That hasn’t changed with time or with increased knowledge and insight. Faith is still the firepower, the spark that makes the connection and ignites the fire of My Spirit to work on your behalf.
Faith is rather mysterious. There’s a lot on faith in My Word, and you know that it’s the substance of things hoped for, the evidence of things not seen (Heb.11:1). You know it’s the “title deed,” as explained by David. You know it comes from the Word, and that it grows. You also know it can shrink if you neglect your spiritual life, or if you develop habits of analyzing and questioning or doubting. Learning the life of faith is a lifelong journey and adventure, and it’s something that will thrill you from now until eternity, if you can grasp that faith is the key. Faith—belief, acceptance‚ action, and expectation. They’re all intertwined, they’re all part of having faith.

2 thoughts on “Sawing off the Limb”

Leave a Reply

