My favorite quotes, songs and stories, my writings and thots

The way I think of you

Reflecting back on this past year, there are so many things I can be thankful for, so many wonderful experiences that made this year great! However, this was also one of the roughest years I’ve had in a very long time. As I went through the ups and downs of this year, however, there is one thing (aside from the Lord and His Word, of course) I found I wouldn’t have made it without: my friends. Friends are angels on earth who somehow were there for me though the really rough patches. Some, I’ve only known for a short time, others for most of my adult life. However, it matters not how these angels minister: through a prayer, a song or quote to pull me through, a joke or jab to get me to pull out of discouragement, or just a listening ear that listened (sometimes for hours!) without judging or condescension, the result was that I made it through another year—somewhat battered and bruised, but I’m still here, right?

goldrosesthorns.jpgWhen this picture came out, I had to think of you (yes, you know who you are…) and how that cup of water was just what I needed at the time. It may be hard to pray and praise when someone is going through a rough time, but you did and it was just what I needed. I know the Lord is always there for me, and without Him I’d really be a mess, regardless of what human love can do, but without the human hands to be His hands, the hearts to be His heart, the tongue to be His tongue to tell me that He still loves and cares for me I would have found it that much harder to find the comfort He was trying to give me.

So, as I smile through my tears, entering this New Year, I wanted to say this: Thank you. Thank you for being there for me, for holding me up through your prayers and concern. Thank you for never losing faith and hope in me. Thank you for putting up with the downs and enjoying the ups with me. I hope and pray that when the time comes that you need me to be that kind of friend, I’ll be there for you too.

This song is one of my absolute favorites right now. I’ve listened to it over and over, sometimes using it as a praise time song as I thank God for you in my life. I can’t find the lyrics online, so I had to transcribe it myself. Hope I got it all right, you’ll get the point anyway: 

Have I ever told you what you mean to me?

Have I ever mentioned just what it is?

A friend is someone that stays close beside you

And in your darkest hour he’ll help see you through.

 
Always caring, always sharing;

He’ll lay down his life for you.

 
And that’s the way I think of you;

For the love of God shines in you.

Your love and friendship helped me, helped me through;

And that’s the way I think of you.

 
We’re climbing a mountain, we’re gonna reach the top;

Every step closer we draw near to God.

Sometimes it’s hard and the road is rugged;

But we can do it together and give what we’ve got.

 
Always caring, always sharing;

We’ll lay down our lives for each other.

 
And that’s the way I think of you;

For the love of God shines in you.

Your love and friendship helped me, helped me through.

And that’s the way I think of you.

 
With land and sea between us we seem so far apart

I’ll always remember you; you have a place in my heart…

In the times to come, you will be the one whose faith is strong, an unquenchable stream of living water. When the faith of others runs out, you will be able to hold them up and replenish their faith. 

Leave a Reply

