My favorite quotes, songs and stories

I Look to You

One of my current favorite songs, I like it not only because it’s beautiful to see how Whitney Houston has come back and sings better than before, but for the lyrics which move me every time. I feel she expresses so well my life right now. Thank the Lord that He’s there for us through the ups and downs. I hope I can stick with my resolution to just leave things in His hands, trust that He ‘does all things well’, and live in the peace and joy more that comes from that trust.

Whitney Houston – I Look to You Lyrics
As I lay me down,
heaven hear me now.
I’m lost without a cause
after giving it my all.

Winter storms have come
and darkened my sun.
After all that I’ve been through
Who on earth can I turn to?

[Refrain]

I look to you.
I look to you.
After all my strength is gone,
in you I can be strong
I look to you.
I look to you.
And when melodies are gone,
in you I hear a song.
I look to you.

About to lose my breath,
there’s no more fighting left,
Sinking to rise no more,
searching for that open door.

And every road that I’ve taken
lead to my regret.
And I don’t know if I’m going to make it.
Nothing to do but lift my head

[Refrain]
My levees are broken
My walls have come
tumbling down on me

The rain is falling.
Defeat is calling.
I need you to set me free.

Take me far away from the battle.
I need you.
Shine on me.

[Refrain]

Leave a Reply

