My favorite quotes, songs and stories, my writings and thots

Enjoy the Gift!

“Grab life by the horns”, “dance in the rain”, “enjoy life; it’s later than you think”. I’ve been hearing these and more most of my life. I have a selection that hang on my bathroom mirror, like this one: “If I had my life to live over, I would relax more. I would climb more mountains and swim more rivers. I would pick more daisies, I would have more actual troubles and less imaginary ones.” Or, “Life is all abut the small moments you live daily. The more you enjoy life, the more life gives you reasons to live.”
Living life to the full is something I’ve been trying to get in the habit of more recently. Those who follow my FB can see the quotes I post on this subject pretty frequently. When it comes down to it, I have to ask myself if I’m actually living it, or just thinking about it. Am I living life to the full? Or is it just in my head?
God gave me a marvelous gift (He gave it to all of us, of course!), He gave me life. So much time is spent pondering the reason for life, why I’m here, what is my purpose, what am I here to do? Then I go a step further and ask, what do I want my children to do with their gift? What is their purpose, their plan? Those are good questions to ask and enact the answers as best I can.
However, I find I can get so wrapped up in the destination that I forget all about the journey. God gave me life, He gave me all of it, not just the tough questions or the difficulties. He also gave good food, kids and friends who make me smile, the rain I love to dance in, and so many little pleasures throughout the day that are meant to be enjoyed.
So I’m taking a step back; I’m not forgetting my purpose, the goal is there, the destination is clear. But I’m determined to enjoy the journey. It only takes a few minutes extra to look up at the sky and enjoy the shade of blue it is today. Giving one of the kids a hug is a minute well spent. Enjoying a treat from time to time a worthwhile investment. Spending time with good friends, talking or going out is all time well spent. So why not dance in the rain–for real? Or sing out loud? Why not enjoy the gift to the full?
I’ll end with another quote, one I’ve seen on a friend’s blog for years, but still love: “Yesterday is history. Tomorrow is a mystery. And today? Today is a gift. That’s why we call it the present.”

Enjoy a great scene from one of my favorite movies:

Leave a Reply

