Uncategorized

Warriors of Light

I was given the book, Manual of the Warrior of Light for my birthday, and have been slowly working my way through it. The reason I’m going slow is because I feel there is a lot to absorb and simply reading it through wouldn’t work for me. Almost every time I read, I find something I can relate to in some way.

I wanted to take parts that meant something to me and share them along with what I got from it. This will be an ongoing series of sorts, as I don’t want to bore anyone in one go. Different passages mean something different to me at different times, so that affects what I share as well. If anyone else can find something to help along their journey, all the better.

Warriors of light always have a certain gleam in their eyes.

They are of this world, they are part of the lives of other people and they set out on their journey with no saddlebags and no sandals. They are often cowardly. They do not always make the right decisions.

They suffer over the most trivial things, they have mean thoughts and sometimes believe they are incapable of growing. They frequently deem themselves unworthy of any blessing or miracle.

They are not always quite sure what they are doing here. They spend many sleepless nights, believing that their lives have no meaning.

That is why they are warriors of light. Because they make mistakes. Because they ask themselves questions. Because they are looking for a reason—and are sure to find it.

This is probably my favorite so far, or at the least ranking in the top five. I’m one of those who struggles with the mistakes I’ve made and continue to make in life. I know life isn’t perfect, and I can’t possibly be perfect either. But that has never stopped me from trying my darndest anyway.

Not fitting in, not sure what I’m doing here, and constantly searching for my reason is a regular part of my life. It helps to remind myself frequently that I’m not from this world, that I’m just passing through, and that the whole path is never clear in one go. There will be twists and turns, sleepless nights, and mistakes made in order get to the destination.

But that’s what makes me a warrior, that’s what makes me strong. All I have to do is keep going on. Learn from mistakes and falls, get back up, and keep fighting, that’s all it takes to be a warrior: not staying down.

I will keep looking for my reason and I know I’ll find it. And every time I do find a reason, there arises a new challenge, something new to do, a new mountain to climb, and I will go on.

Leave a Reply

